Booked All Week

and next week, too

…Twitter? *Gulp*

with 21 comments

So, here’s the deal. I’ve put off the whole Twitter thing for a while now, and am probably one of the last of my generation (with regular hi-speed internet access!) to do so. I don’t know, I’ve just been stubborn about it! You know how that happens, sometimes? You just decide that you don’t like something for no reason and convince yourself that you’ll never have any use for it?

Well, next week I’m starting a new internship with The Council of Literary Magazines and Presses, a non-profit that advocates for small, independent publishers. I’m really excited about it! And one of my Digital Marketing duties is, of course, to tweet for them. So, I’ve made a practice account @bookedallweek. Follow me, if you’d like! Who knows, maybe I’ll even keep the account open a while, if it turns out I have enough to chirp about.

Now, some fun miscellany: The picture I’m using on Twitter is of my bunny, Taco, posing atop my computer case with a paint can and an old copy of The Color Purple that I sacrificed to him about a week ago. He has great taste in books…in NIBBLING them that is! (I couldn’t find my camera, so this dark and fuzzy iPhoto is the best I could do. Sorry!)


The binding on this book fell apart before Taco was able to sink his teeth into it, so no real harm was done to any book in the making of this photo!

I find that it’s surprisingly easy to live with a furry little book-eating monster if I just allow him an old, beat up toss-a-way every now and again to temper his voracious appetite for words.

Written by Emily Jane

January 19, 2012 at 11:38 pm

Posted in Uncategorized

21 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. So excited that you’ve finally joined the twitter world 🙂 So easy to keep up to date and in touch there I find! (Though Gchat is still fun and has its uses too!)

    Oh, and congrats on the internship!

    amymckie

    January 19, 2012 at 11:42 pm

    • Hehe, I knew you would be Amy. I remember you trying to convince me to do it almost a year ago!

      And thanks!!!

      Emily Jane

      January 19, 2012 at 11:58 pm

  2. I was actually convinced to join twitter. I opened an account and closed it but after the convincing I went back. It helps spread your work too. Hope you find it interesting and I know I’m following you.

    Nana Fredua-Agyeman

    January 20, 2012 at 8:07 am

  3. Very exciting news about that internship! What a great opportunity 🙂

    nymeth

    January 20, 2012 at 10:25 am

  4. Welcome to twitter! I’m also a late adopter, but have found it really useful to offer and receive information and also network more with the book blogging community.

    Good luck with the new internship!

    Alex

    January 20, 2012 at 2:17 pm

    • Thanks Alex! It does seem useful for that. I like that I can follow publishers so easily now!

      Emily Jane

      January 20, 2012 at 6:36 pm

  5. A practice account, LOL! I’m on twitter though I don’t tweet as much as I would like. But it’s great for book talks, in fact all manner of talk. Good luck with the internship.

    Kinna

    January 20, 2012 at 4:39 pm

    • Haha, I’m sure it’s unnecessary, but I want to be DOUBLY sure I know all the tricks before I try to do it “for real” 🙂 Thanks Kinna!

      Emily Jane

      January 20, 2012 at 6:37 pm

  6. So much here to comment on! First, already added you on Twitter (@estellasrevenge). And you have a BUNNY NAMED TACO! How cute is that? And finally, congrats on the internship!

    Andi (Estella's Revenge)

    January 20, 2012 at 5:08 pm

    • Hi Andi! I added you back 🙂 Yes, little fuzzbox bunny Taco is cuuuute, isn’t he? #loveofmylife. Maybe I’ll share some more, better pictures of him in the future. And thanks!!

      Emily Jane

      January 20, 2012 at 6:40 pm

  7. I added you on twitter 🙂

    The bunny! How cute! I used to have one as a child, and she’d be allowed to run around our living room for most of the time. My parents still own many books that have been nibbled on.

    Your internship sounds really interesting! Good luck!

    Iris

    January 21, 2012 at 9:48 am

    • Aw, aren’t bunnies the best? Taco has free reign in our apartment…his chewing habits help inspire us to be less messy, that’s for sure!

      Thanks! See you on Twitter!

      Emily Jane

      January 21, 2012 at 9:03 pm

  8. I abandoned Twitter some years ago but I don’t regret starting in the first place. It gave my blog a huge boost, and it’s also where I first met Stu 🙂

    Love the bunny! Is he entirely a house rabbit? (And house-trained?!)

    Sarah

    January 21, 2012 at 10:41 pm

    • Cool, Sarah!

      Yep, he’s a house rabbit and uses a litter box, like a cat 🙂

      Emily Jane

      January 22, 2012 at 7:02 pm

  9. I

    winstonsdad

    January 22, 2012 at 11:30 am

  10. I ll have to find you ,all the best stu

    winstonsdad

    January 22, 2012 at 11:32 am

  11. Welcome to the world of Twitter! I hope it treats you well!

    Jenny

    January 25, 2012 at 12:38 am


Leave a Reply

