Booked All Week

and next week, too

A Year of Feminist Classics, 2012

with 8 comments

I am pleased to announce that A Year of Feminist Classics is now entering a second year with an excellent reading list and a number of new co-hosts! It took us a while to get organized (the holidays, and all), so we’ll be running the project from February 2012–January 2013. Each book will be presented by one main host, but we’ll be working together to ensure continuity in the case of real-life distractions. Here’s what we’ll be reading, with the name of each month’s host in parentheses and a link to their own blogs:

  • February – Feminism is for Everybody by bell hooks (Amy)
  • March – The Book of the City of Ladies by Christine De Pizan (Jean)
  • April – Whipping Girl: A Transsexual Woman on Sexism and the Scapegoating of Femininity by Julia Serano (Cass)
  • May – Jane Eyre by Charlotte Brontë read alongside Wide Sargasso Sea by Jean Rhys (Iris)
  • June – Stone Butch Blues by Leslie Feinberg (Emily)
  • July – Little Women by Louisa May Alcott (Nancy)
  • August – The Bluest Eye by Toni Morrison (Lauren)
  • September – Borderlands/La Frontera by Gloria Anzaldua (Melissa)
  • October – The Feminine Mystique by Betty Friedan (Jodie)
  • November – Beyond the Veil by Fatema Mernissi (Ana)
  • December – Women, Race, and Class by Angela Davis (Emily Jane)
  • January – Feminism Without Borders: Decolonizing Theory, Practising Solidarity by Chandra Talpade Mohanty (Eva)

If possible, I’m even more excited about the project this year than I was last year. I’m so glad that it’s being continued with more hosts and, hopefully, with more participants!

As Ana wrote in her introduction to this year’s plans,

We invite you all to think of this project as an informal feminist reading group. You don’t have to commit to joining the discussion every month, but we’d love to hear your thoughts whenever you’re able to. We’re very excited to read these books together, and we hope we’ll have the opportunity to continue to learn from each other and from you.

If you’re not yet involved but at all interested, we’d love to have you join us…on your own terms 🙂

Written by Emily Jane

January 15, 2012 at 6:22 am

8 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Last year I followed, not keenly, Amy’s progress. I will do so again, including your blog. If I get the time, I will read Jane Eyre and The Bluest Eye, though I am really eager to read the latter as soon as I possibly can.

    Nana Fredua-Agyeman

    January 15, 2012 at 5:23 pm

    • Excellent Nana! I have read those two already and am not sure yet whether or not I’ll be re-reading them, but I loved them both and it would be great to have you join our discussions if possible 🙂

      Emily Jane

      January 15, 2012 at 9:35 pm

  2. I hope to join in this time as I like Nana enjoyed your post last year ,all the best stu

    winstonsdad

    January 15, 2012 at 8:23 pm

    • Yay, Stu! We’d be thrilled 🙂 Really looking forward to the books this year!

      Emily Jane

      January 15, 2012 at 9:38 pm

  3. I’m so excited we can expand and continue this year. I am also excited that it’ll be a bit less stressful personally 🙂

    amymckie

    January 17, 2012 at 1:50 am

  4. I am very excited about this year’s project 🙂

    Iris

    January 19, 2012 at 8:30 pm


Leave a comment