Booked All Week

and next week, too

2011 Favorites and Wrap-Up

with 12 comments

This year I read significantly less than last, which was both my first year blogging and keeping track. I gave very few 5-star ratings on Goodreads, maybe because I took more chances by straying from the “classics” and breaching new-to-me topics. I guess those risks didn’t quite pay off this year, though I will continue to take them in the future. Here’s the small list of books that got 5 stars from me this year:

Fiction:

Half of A Yellow Sun, by Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie

The Woman in White, by Wilkie Collins

The Little Stranger, by Sarah Waters

Honorable mentions:

The Group, by Mary McCarthy

Wish Her Safe at Home, by Stephen Benatar

Novellas:

So Long a Letter, by Mariama Ba

Non-Fiction:

Between Women: Friendship, Desire, and Marriage in Victorian England, by Sharon Marcus

The Invention of Heterosexuality, by Jonathan Ned Katz

Honorable mentions:

Nymphomania: A History, by Carole Groneman

Biography:

The Sound of Wings: The Story of Amelia Earhart, by Mary S. Lovell

Essays:

Flat-Footed Truths: Telling Black Women’s Lives, by Patricia Bell-Scott and Juanita Johnson-Bailey

Honorable mentions:

Without a Net: The Female Experience of Growing Up Working Class, edited by Michelle TeaΒ 

I bet you can spot a few of my favorite themes, particularly in my non-fiction reading πŸ™‚

And there you have it! As for 2012, The Year of Feminist Classics project that Amy, Ana, Iris and I hosted this year will be continued. We’re adding more hosts so that we will be better able to cover for each other when we’re busy (which is a lot, these days) and will be making the announcement about this year’s reading list soon.

So far I haven’t joined any challenges. I’m more interested in challenges this year than I was last, but honestly, I haven’t across any yet that particularly grab me. I might sign up for a few a little later down the road, but for now I’m still pretty happy leaving my reading plans wide open.

Thank you to everyone who’s commented here or inspired me to comment at your place. I’m so grateful for all the bloggy friends I’ve made and kept this year, and can’t wait to keep talking books with you all in 2012! Happy New Year’s Eve!!!


Written by Emily Jane

December 31, 2011 at 8:55 pm

Posted in Misc., Uncategorized

12 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I love all your fiction favourites and clearly need to get my hands on the non-fiction ones. Happy New Year, Emily!

    Nymeth

    January 1, 2012 at 10:13 pm

    • You certainly do, Ana! I’d love to hear what you think about them. Happy new year to you, too!!!

      Emily Jane

      January 3, 2012 at 9:05 pm

  2. I love that there are two African women writers on your list of favorites :).And yet another reminder that I should read Wilkie Collins. Happy New year and enjoy your reading in 2012!

    Kinna

    January 2, 2012 at 8:39 am

    • I do too, Kinna. I hope there will be even more next year πŸ™‚ I’m looking forward to reading more Wilkie Collins, as The Woman in White just blew me away. Happy new year to and great reading to you too, Kinna!

      Emily Jane

      January 3, 2012 at 9:07 pm

  3. I’ve added Between Women to my wishlist. πŸ™‚ I’ve actually read all but one of the fiction books you mention and enjoyed them!

    Eva

    January 3, 2012 at 12:06 am

    • Happy to hear it, Eva. I hope you find Between Women as fascinating as I did!

      Emily Jane

      January 3, 2012 at 9:08 pm

  4. Looking forward to keeping up with your reading in the New Year. All good things for 2012!

    bookeywookey

    January 3, 2012 at 9:53 am

    • Thank you so much! Happy new year to you too, and I can’t wait to keep up with your blog as well πŸ™‚

      Emily Jane

      January 3, 2012 at 9:09 pm

  5. Have The Little Stranger in the TBR and plan to read it in 2012. it’ll be my first Sarah Water. I think my Classics Bookclub will chose The Moonstone this year. The Woman in White was one of the best discussions of 2010.

    Alex

    January 3, 2012 at 12:25 pm

    • I just finished my second book by Sarah Waters (review coming soon). It was fun and pretty good, but not as great as The Little Stranger, so I think it’s a good place to start! Hope you enjoy it. I’m going to read The Moonstone this year too…probably sooner rather than later!

      Emily Jane

      January 3, 2012 at 9:11 pm

  6. What fantastic lists of favorites! I can’t wait to see what we do this year with YoFC too πŸ™‚

    amymckie

    January 5, 2012 at 2:35 pm

    • Thanks Amy! Yeah, I think it’s shaping up to be a good one πŸ™‚

      Emily Jane

      January 5, 2012 at 5:39 pm


Leave a Reply

