Booked All Week

and next week, too

Emily Books: Something I Like a Whole Lot and Not Just Because its Called “Emily Books”, Although That Helps

with 2 comments

Disclaimer: I am in no way affiliated with Emily Books. Promise!

It’s an independent e-book store run by two young women out of Brooklyn which offers yearly subscribers just one(!) exclusive e-book per month. It also functions as a kind of virtual book club as essays relating to each month’s pick are posted on their website throughout that month, and a literal book club as well for subscribers in New York who can make it to regular meet-ups. Subscribers don’t know in advance which books will become available, though a quick look through Emily Book’s tumblr and their first month’s pick, No More Nice Girls: Countercultural Essays by feminist music critic Ellen Willis, betrays their taste. Subscribers must be willing to take risks–some might consider this a disincentive, but it’s also pretty adventurous and gives readers access to books that they might never have read on their own, but really enjoyed.

I stand firmly on the physical dead-tree-book side of the line myself, though I don’t think that hard-book lovers and e-book readers constitute two mutually exclusive groups of people, either, and I agree with the women of Emily Books that e-books probably aren’t going anywhere anytime soon. Emily Books isn’t about promoting e-reading though so much as they’re trying to build an independent business platform for selling e-books that doesn’t benefit just the corporate Big Guys like Google and Amazon (even when independent booksellers sell through them, they get a big cut). Personal preferences aside, I believe that this is a worthy goal and hope that others will take it on as well. Maybe they already have?

What do you think: all questions of cost aside (and it is expensive, I think), would you try a subscription to something like this? Does it spark your interest?

Written by Emily Jane

October 17, 2011 at 12:20 am

Posted in Misc.

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I love the DIY idea and the e-book a month one too, Emily Jane, but on the other hand I haven’t yet read an e-book in its entirety. Some old habits are hard to break. Guess I’d be up for it if the mix of authors and writing appealed to me, but I’m still super fond of paper books to the point that e-books (and audio books for that matter) don’t really call out to me.

    Richard

    October 17, 2011 at 5:23 am

    • That’s pretty much where I’m at too, Richard. I also really like that this is DIY and the one book a month thing is cool too. I’ve never tried to read an e-book though, I don’t even own an e-reader. Whenever I have to read anything longer than the average blog post from the internet I print it out first. Glad to have this to recommend to e-reading friends, though!

      Emily Jane

      October 20, 2011 at 1:37 am


Leave a Reply

