Booked All Week

and next week, too

2011: A Year of Feminist Classics!

with 15 comments

I’ve committed to my first year-long reading project, starting this January: A Year of Feminist Classics. I’ll be co-hosting with Amy of Amy Reads, Iris of Iris on Books, and Ana of Things Mean a Lot. A bunch of the books we’ll be reading and discussing have been on my back burner for quite some time, so I’m really pleased to finally be making time for them (The Second Sex, ahem). And Amy, Iris, and Ana are three of my favorite bloggers, so I’m honored to be included!

Visit our new group blog and check out our reading list. Note, though, that it is subject to change a bit as we’re currently working to include some non-Western feminist classics. Have some suggestions? Let us know! Still think we’re lacking and must include X, for whatever reason? You’re undoubtedly right–maybe you’d be interested in writing a guest post for us! Surely there are thousands more unmissable feminist texts the four of us can’t cover in a year πŸ™‚

Of course, we’d love you to participate in any way you’d like. This could mean joining us for just one book, or all of them. Or just leaving your thoughts in comments every once in a while.

We’re all very excited about this project, so do check it out and let us know what you think!

Written by Emily Jane

November 12, 2010 at 3:21 pm

15 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Yay! I’m so excited about the project and the books and I hope we get the list fully ironed out soon πŸ™‚ It’s going to be so much fun!

    amymckie

    November 12, 2010 at 3:49 pm

  2. This is going to be so much fun πŸ˜€ I love that people are already making us think of things we hadn’t considered before (though I of course don’t love the fact that diversity is still so easy to overlook).

    nymeth

    November 12, 2010 at 5:12 pm

  3. It is a bit embarrassing that we didn’t include non-Western authors, I guess I felt: bell hooks covers the subject of black women and did not think any further. Stupid, I know.. Or is it the use of the word classic that makes it so easy to overlook non-Western authors, because it is so dominantly used as a word that covers Western literature? I don’t know, anyhow, a bit weird that we didn’t think of that! And I am very much looking forward to starting the project, I am honoured to work with all 3 of you as well πŸ™‚

    Iris

    November 12, 2010 at 6:07 pm

  4. I think it does have a lot to do with the word “classic”, Iris, and what we in the West expose ourselves to as such. Which is no excuse for our oversight.

    Of course, there is no shortage of option for more material so I’m sure we’ll work it out!

    πŸ™‚

    Emily Jane

    November 12, 2010 at 7:39 pm

  5. Exciting project! I’ll definitely be reading, even if I lack time to take part. The button is now in my sidebar. πŸ™‚

    Jillian

    November 12, 2010 at 11:20 pm

  6. great list look forward to your reviews all the best stu ,will join in with second sex got a copy of that

    winstonsdad

    November 13, 2010 at 7:26 am

  7. What fun! I’ll be joining y’all as much as possible. πŸ™‚

    Eva

    November 13, 2010 at 7:13 pm

  8. Excellent, we’ll be glad to have you both!

    Emily Jane

    November 14, 2010 at 4:35 pm

  9. Y’all are so great. I love this project. I’m not sure yet how many of the reading months I’ll be able to participate in, but I’m hoping to do at least a few.

    Jenny

    November 14, 2010 at 8:19 pm

  10. Great, Jenny! Glad to have ya, whenever you’re able πŸ™‚

    Emily Jane

    November 14, 2010 at 8:36 pm

  11. No “non-western” recommendations other than Rigoberta Menchu’s memoir spring to my mind right now, Emily Jane, but I look forward to hearing what you and the rest of the group think about the books on your list. Sounds like a good start–best of luck!

    Richard

    November 14, 2010 at 9:34 pm

  12. Oh, good thinking Richard, thanks! I read that recently so hadn’t considered it for this, but it could work.

    Emily Jane

    November 16, 2010 at 5:11 pm

  13. Looks fantastic! In terms of non-western authors–I’m a great fan of Fatimah Mernasi–Sheherrazade Goes West is the feminist Morrocan classic but I also love Girlhood in a Harem.

    Miriam Sagan

    November 23, 2010 at 2:51 am

  14. Thanks Miriam! We’re considering something by her πŸ™‚

    Emily Jane

    November 23, 2010 at 5:55 am


Leave a Reply

