Booked All Week

and next week, too

A Room With a View, by E.M. Forster

with 6 comments

In A Room With a View, Lucy leaves her contained and predictable life in the English countryside and travels through Italy with her annoying, manipulative older cousin Charlotte as chaperone. There she is inspired by the beauty, the pace, and the culture of Italy, and she begins an inner transformation. She also starts to fall for George Emerson, a young man staying in the same  hotel in Florence. George is rather unconventional; he says just what he wants with no regard to polite society and is rough around the edges. Charlotte disapproves and whisks Lucy away to Rome, far from George.

Upon her return home, Lucy quickly adapts back to her old lifestyle, but without forgetting her time abroad, unable to ignore completely the differences it made to her sense of self. She becomes engaged to Cecil Vyse, a boring, snobby, cerebral man. She thinks she could be happy until George moves into town and her two conflicting worldviews collide. In order to sort out the mess she’s in, she must become more assertive. Only after she is able to be honest about her desires can she live freely, with enthusiasm.

I liked the tone of the book; it was light and airy. Very pleasant. Lucy’s upheavals toward the end were satisfying. And while it wasn’t a particularly funny book, there were times I felt Forster’s sense of humor shine through.

But it really wasn’t much more than pleasant for me. A nice enough way to spend an afternoon or two, but nothin’ I was too excited about.

Written by Emily Jane

July 21, 2010 at 1:06 am

Posted in Novels

Tagged with ,

6 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I loved this book when I read it as a youngster ,dreamt of being in Italy and visiting all the different places ,stiill do ,all the best stu

    winstonsdad

    July 21, 2010 at 1:16 pm

  2. The descriptions of Lucy discovering Italy were quite lovely!

    Emily Jane

    July 21, 2010 at 7:07 pm

  3. I felt the same way about this book when I read it. I need to try something else by EM Forster, as I feel I haven’t given him a fair showing, only reading one of his books. He had a light, amusing style, but I couldn’t get too involved because I never felt like anything was at stake. I think maybe A Passage to India would be more engaging.

    Jenny

    July 21, 2010 at 11:46 pm

  4. I really loved this when I read it earlier this year. Sorry to hear it wasn’t too memorable for you!

    Nymeth

    July 22, 2010 at 6:53 am

  5. Yeah Jenny, same. I wouldn’t mind trying another book by Forster sometime.

    Eh, they can’t all be favorites.

    Emily Jane

    July 23, 2010 at 3:20 am

  6. […] fiction, I am very tempted to go after some more of his books before the end of the year.” Emily Jane at Booked All Week expressing a bit more reservations said that she, “liked the tone of the […]


Leave a Reply

