Booked All Week

and next week, too

I Write Like David Foster Wallace (and “We All Write Like White Men”)

leave a comment »

So, I entered the text of my last real blog post, the one about Fathers and Sons, into this writing analyzer thingy and it says I write like David Foster Wallace. I haven’t actually read any David Foster Wallace (I know I know, what kind of book blogger am I?), but I hear he’s pretty great, so I’ll take it as a compliment. Hey, at least I didn’t get Dan Brown! I also can’t figure out how to make my “I Write Like David Foster Wallace” badge show up on the blog (again, what kind of book blogger am I?), but I assure you it’s cool.

It’s an unsophisticated non-sensical just-for-fun internet toy, definitely, but it still kinda sucks that there are apparently so few women and um, zero people of color represented as results, as if there aren’t (m)any with instantly recognizable writing styles. And that when the creator of the site responsible for I Write Like was confronted, he pulled the “color-blind” card. And the gender equivalent too, which doesn’t seem to get used as often but still: stupid.

Pfff. Whatevs, dude.

Written by Emily Jane

July 18, 2010 at 3:33 am

Leave a Reply

